2012 MPSF all-conference team announced

Pacific's Balazs Erdelyi was named the 2012 MPSF player of the year.

The MPSF season is completed, and now the post season accolades have been handed out. The player of the year this past year is Pacific's Balazs Erdelyi, he earned this award by scoring 83 goals which was good enough for 3.46 per contest. Erdelyi also had 21 multi-goal games, and tied a MPSF record of nine goals in one game. He is Pacific's first-ever MPSF player of the year.

Newcomer of the year was Stanford's Bret Bonanni, he led the Cardinal with 73 goals. Bonanni also was just behind Erdelyi in goals per game at 3.17 for second most in the MPSF, he also was named to MPSF first team.

The coach of the year went to Long Beach State's Gavin Arroyo. He lead the 49ers to their first MPSF tournament since 2008 where Long Beach State finished fifth. The 2012 campaign was the second-best season in team history. The only team that was better was the 1981 team that qualified for the NCAA tournament.

USC lead all teams with seven players being named an all-conference player, and four were first-team selections.

First team:

Balazs Erdelyi, Junior, Attacker, Pacific
Nikola Vavic, Junior, Driver, USC
Alex Bowen, Sophomore, Utility, Stanford
Kostas Genidounias, Sophomore, Driver, USC
James Clark, Junior, Goalkeeper, USC
Josh Samuels, Senior, Attacker, UCLA
Bret Bonanni, Freshman, Driver, Stanford
Jeremy Davie, Junior, 2-Meter, USC

Second team:

Matt Rapacz, Senior, Goalkeeper, UCLA
Collin Smith, Junior, Driver, California
Dan Matulis, Junior, Center, Long Beach State
Alex Obert, Sophomore, Utility, Pacific
Aleksa Saponjic, Sophomore, Attacker, California
Marin Balarin, Senior, 2-Meter Off., California
Paul Reynolds, Sophomore, Attacker, UCLA
Michael Rosenthal, Senior, Driver, USC

Honorable mention:

Mace Rapsey, Junior, Utility, USC
Aleksandar Petrovic, Freshman, Defender, Pacific
Forrest Watkins, Junior, Utility, Stanford
Brian Shoemaker, Senior, Utility, UC Santa Barbara
Mitch Wise, Junior, Driver, UC Irvine
BJ Churnside, Freshman, Driver, Stanford
Nolan McConnell, Freshman, Attacker, Long Beach State
Matt Burton, Senior, Two-Meter, USC
Alex Malkis, Junior, Goalkeeper, Pacific
Stephen Loomis, Senior, Attacker, Pepperdine
Nick Rascon, Junior, Attacker, Long Beach State
Spencer White, Senior, Attacker, Long Beach State
Milos Vrzic, Sophomore, Attacker, Long Beach State
Balint Meszaros, Sophomore, Goalkeeper, Long Beach State
Aimone Barabino, Junior, Center, UCLA

Trending Discussions

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join The Skip Shot

You must be a member of The Skip Shot to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Skip Shot. You should read them.

Join The Skip Shot

You must be a member of The Skip Shot to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Skip Shot. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.