clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Men's 2012 London Olympic Field Is Set

The 2012 Men's Olympic field is set after the conclusion of the Olympic Qualifying tournament that wrapped up this past week. The four final additions are Greece, Montenegro, Romania and Spain. In the Olympic qualifying tournament it was Montenegro who won the tournament 12-9 over Spain with Greece claiming third place with a 14-10 win over Romania.

Here are the 12 countries that will be participating in the 2012 London Olympics and how they qualified:

Great Britain - Host country
Serbia - 2011 World League Champions
Italy - 2011 FINA World Championships
Croatia - 2011 FINA World Championships
Hungary - 2011 FINA World Championships
United States - 2011 Pan Am Games Champions
Kazakhstan - 2012 Asian Water Polo Championships
Australia - Oceania Qualification Tournament
Spain - Olympic Qualification Tournament
Montenegro - Olympic Qualification Tournament
Greece - Olympic Qualification Tournament
Romania - Olympic Qualification Tournament

The next big event will be the group draw to determine who plays who in group play.

For more water polo news, join the conversation on Twitter, Facebook and Google+