clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 CWPA Western Division All-Conference Team Announced

The 2012 CWPA Western Division All-Conference team was announced and the coach of the year was no surprise when the Maryland Terrapins Carly Salyer led Maryland to an undefeated conference record.

Even though Maryland went undefeated in conference play -- they ended up getting fourth place at the conference tournament -- only one Maryland player made the all-conference team in Allison Campbell. Maryland did land three other players on the second team, and the four players overall was the most out of any team.

The Michigan Wolverines had the most players on the first team with three and tied with the Indiana Hoosiers and Hartwick Eagles for second with three players overall to be named to the all-conference team.

2012 CWPA Western Division all-conference teams:

Player of the Year: Kiki Golden (University of Michigan)
Coach of the Year: Carl Salyer (University of Maryland)
Rookie of the Year: Kamila Zakirova (Hartwick College)

First Team

Cassie Wyckoff (Goalie) - Indiana University
Shae Fournier - Indiana University
Kiki Golden - University of Michigan
Kelsey Nolan - University of Michigan
Lauren Colton - University of Michigan
Allison Campbell - University of Maryland
Sasha Freeborn - Hartwick College

Second Team

Shelby Reyes (Goalie) - University of Maryland
Simone Lewis - University of Maryland
Katie Ermakova - University of Maryland
Kamila Zakirova - Hartwick College
Lily Martinez - Hartwick College
Colleen McNaught - Indiana University
Colleen Harriger - Gannon University

For more water polo news, join the conversation on Twitter, Facebook and Google+